This day in baseball: First Hall of Famers

The first five men elected into baseball’s new Hall of Fame on February 2, 1936 were Ty Cobb, Babe Ruth, Honus Wagner, Walter Johnson, and Christy Mathewson.  The Hall of Fame was scheduled to open in Cooperstown, New York in 1939 as part of baseball’s celebration of its “centennial,” that is, the centennial based on the myth of Doubleday’s invention of the game.


2 thoughts on “This day in baseball: First Hall of Famers

  1. It’s a good thing the induction ceremony wasn’t scheduled that day–getting to Cooperstown in February is a beast in the here and the now, let alone the Thirties.

Leave a Reply